Happy Hour

November 19, 2008

NB Kids’ Race Recap/ NB Power Failure Recap

Filed under: Races — levyang @ 4:28 am

Kids’ Race:

  • Got to the venue around 3:30 pm and was happy to see quite a few runners, young and old alike, gearing up for the 5K and kiddie races that day.
  • All my four children were entered, ages ranging from 2 to 7 years old🙂
  • While I was real excited for my children’s first official race, I was also trying to temper their expectations.  Well, you know how kids are in games, etc.  It’s either win or lose for them, there is no middle ground.  So, I was reminding them all the usual B.S. about “it’s all about having fun”  and “finishing a race is what’s important and that in itself makes them winners”🙂  
  • As we approached the chute, I was surprised that the NB representatives were quite strict in enforcing the rule that only race participants were allowed inside.  While my 3 older children can probably manage on their own, my youngest daughter would surely get trampled along the way😦
  • My wife and I decided then to just let our 3 older children to start the race while their sister meet up with them around the bend.  
  • Matthew, David and Joshua were pretty excited and just like Foreign Runner, lined up at the head of the pack!!
  • I told them to line up at the back instead so they won’t get hurt.  
  • I was waiting around the bend when the gun went off.  And off they ran!!! 
  • My third child, Joshua, was leading while David and Matthew were following closely behind.  I found it real cute that they had their game faces on🙂  Serious talaga mga to ah.  
  • I was trying to capture the whole event on video, so I was busy scampering from one child to the other.  Boy, and I thought doing triathlons was hard :-O
  • I didn’t get to see Gracie leave the chute.  And as it turned out, she ran quite a bit and smiled for the spectators at the start before Mommy had to carry her as they caught up with the other siblings🙂 You can see her picture at Bards’ blog (bananarunnng.wordpress.com)  Thank you Bards for including my daughter in your recap🙂
  • Of the 3 boys, it was Matthew who had a hard time running.  So, Josh and David would stop every now and then and wait for Matt.
  • There was a water station at the halfway point and we posed for some pictures :) 
  • Towards the finish, it was David who finished first, followed by Joshua.  And then about 5 minutes later, Matthew and Gracie finished as well🙂  
  • It was quite a workout for all of us including my wife and our yayas who accompanied the kids all the way🙂  
  • It was unfortunate though that while David and Josh were able to get loot bags, Matt and Gracie were left empty-handed because apparently the organizers ran out of supplies😦  Matt was a bit upset but got over it when I told him we’re gonna swim afterwards🙂  I guess Extribe still accepted onsite registration for the kids’ race so that must have explained why they ran out of loot bags.  Oh well.
  • It was still a fun race and I’m glad our family survived the New Balance Kids’ Race :) 

Power Failure Recap:

  • The failure was mine and mine alone as I didn’t meet my pre-race target of a 5:30 pace.  As you must have read in the other blogs, Extribe did a good job with the New Balance Power Race🙂  I expected nothing less from Extribe who are the same people behind Whiterock Triathlon.
  • I should not have checked the route the night before.  The route psyched me out, hahaha.  I was defeated even before I ran the race.   
  • I returned the Garmin 405 to Philip after the race.  Just thought I’d let you in on my lap times for the 25K:

                    KM 1 – 5:47                       KM 14 – 5:17 (downhill kasi)

                    KM 2 – 5:25                       KM 15 – 5:34

                    KM 3 – 6:01                       KM 16 – 5:42

                    KM 4 – 5:40                       KM 17 – 6:04

                    KM 5 – 5:31                       KM 18 – 6:15  (the start of the 4 km trek up towards the ruins)

                    KM 6 – 5:46                       KM 19 – 6:31 (suffer! suffer! suffer!)

                    KM 7 – 5:48                       KM 20 – 6:26 (shuffling, no longer running at this point)

                    KM 8 – 5:45                       KM 21 – 6:29 (will it ever end?)

                    KM 9 – 5:49                       KM 22 – 5:58 (finally!)

                    KM 10 – 6:03                     KM 23 – 5:48 (almost there)

                    KM 11 – 5:54                     KM 24 – 6:09 (malapit na talaga, last hill)

                    KM 12 – 6:00                     KM 25 – 5:29 (told you I’d do a 5:30 split🙂 )

                    KM 13 – 5:35

  • Unofficial results are out showing that I finished with a time of 2:27:43🙂
  • Yup, the robot is only human after all🙂

Cheers!!

5 Comments »

  1. You’re not a robot. You’re a MONSTER

    Comment by marga — November 19, 2008 @ 6:43 am | Reply

  2. kawawa naman, why cry as there are many that would love a time like that. Anyway back to training, did yu read the marathon is about to take place in Calrk in February. It might happen. It is on Bullrunner’s site. Or should I tell you this after another month or two?

    Comment by Philip — November 19, 2008 @ 7:25 am | Reply

  3. Nice one Robot! You don’t need a garmin to keep pace…remember the Duathlon?😉

    Comment by Javy — November 19, 2008 @ 9:02 am | Reply

  4. That was a good finish though. Last year my time was “far mar” disappointing than yours, gladly I recovered during last sunday’s event. See you again Levy.

    Comment by run unltd. — November 19, 2008 @ 12:33 pm | Reply

  5. Hey Levy. Enjoyed the time spent with you during the vacation. Next year, I’ll take a day and train with you. Interesting while I was away, the Lakers and the Sharks are the two hotest franchises right now. They might be coveting their respective sports trophies next June!

    See you in 2009!

    Comment by sfrunner — November 20, 2008 @ 5:20 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

